3 Banken Group

GB Grafik 3Banken Gruppe 4LaenderBank

In the difficult environment of the years following the war, BTV decided to maintain and safeguard its independence that had existed since 1904. The foundation for the "3 Banken Gruppe" was laid with the 1952 Syndicate Agreement between BTV, Oberbank, BKS Bank and Creditanstalt a network of three independent and strong regional banks, which even today still represents a convincing and highly competitive alternative model to multinational financial groups.

The 3 Banken Group is made up of BTV, together with BKS Bank AG and Oberbank AG. The three banks are active in their original regions: BKS Bank covers the states of Carinthia and Styria as well as southern Burgenland, Oberbank covers Salzburg, Upper Austria, Lower Austria and the rest of Burgenland. BTV's roots lie in Tyrol and Vorarlberg. All three banks are represented in Vienna.

Strength throughout the region

The 3 Banken Group is present with its own branches or representative offices in all of Austria's neighbouring countries. BTV has branches in Southern Germany (Augsburg, Memmingen, Munich, Ravensburg/Weingarten and Stuttgart) as well as in Eastern Switzerland (Staad am Bodensee, Winterthur). BKS Bank has representative offices in Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Slovenia and Italy. And Oberbank covers the regions of Southern Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary.  

Creating security

The mutual shareholdings that serve to safeguard the banks' independence and autonomy are not the only way in which the three banks are connected. Their business philosophies are also very much alike: customer proximity, regional market knowledge and a conservative business policy. It goes without saying that the three banks cooperate with each other by choice and according to democratic principles. This cooperation provides security, creates confidence and leads to cost-saving synergies.

Benefiting from synergies

In order to save costs, build up shared know-how and develop it further, the three banks founded the joint data processing subsidiary 3BEG, the 3 Banken Versicherungsmakler (insurance company) and the 3 Banken-Generali Investment-Gesellschaft (investment company). They also decided to share the use of premises abroad.